SHARE




Privacy and security is one of the top most concern for all the Internet users. If you are a tech savvy person, you should be knowing that there are many websites which stores your browsing history via the cookies on your web browser, specially the search engines like Google or shopping websites. Usually the intention behind this is to provide your faster and relevant result when you are using their websites based on your previous usage data. Also this information is used to provide more relevant advertisements to you while you are browsing a website.

But this can also be harmful in some ways as all your online activities are being tracked by these websites from your search query history to shopping preferences. Also, there are many people who just do not like the idea of being tracked online. Since Google is the most popular website in the world and people use various products of Google like search engine, Gmail, Google Plus, YouTube etc. Google is having the biggest database of all the online activities of the Internet users.

Since Internet users are looking for more privacy now. Google has come up with an option to view and delete all the data related to your online activities. Using this new feature which is available on your Google account now, you can see and delete all your search activities and many other data which is stored on Google's server linked with your Google account. This is really a useful and nice option for all the privacy loving Internet users.

But one drawback here is that Google deletes your online activity data just from your Google account, not from their servers. It means that Google will still have this data available to them and they will use it to improve their services and other purpose but it will be no more associated to your Google account. As Google officially says about this as follows,
"When you delete items from your Web & App Activity, they are no longer associated with your Google Account. However, Google may store activity separately to prevent spam and abuse and to improve our services."

But still it is a good idea to at least delete all your online activities data and unlink it from your Google account. The method to view or download and delete your online activity history from your Google account is explained below.

Also Check :

Top 5 Facebook Security Tips for Privacy and Safety

How Mobile Apps Are Invading Your Privacy (Infographic)

How to Stay Anonymous Online for Privacy and Security (Infographic)

HOW TO : Delete All of Your Online Activity Data from Google Account


HOW TO : View and Download Your Online Activity Data from Google Account


1. Go to Google’s Web and App Activity page by clicking on the link given below. Login with your Google account user credentials.

Click here to open Google’s Web and App Activity Page

HOW TO  Delete All of Your Online Activity Data from Google Account

2. Now, click the gear icon in the top-right corner of the screen as shown in the picture below.

3. Then from the drop-down menu, select "Download" option. You will receive a pop-up window showing a warning message that you should not download your search history to a public computer, as it contains a large amount of sensitive information

HOW TO  Delete All of Your Online Activity Data from Google Account

4. Click on the "Create Archive" button.

HOW TO  Delete All of Your Online Activity Data from Google Account

5. A pop-up windows will appear once again showing that Google is preparing your archive. Once your history data is prepared to be downloaded, you will receive an email in your Gmail inbox with a link to download your Google search history data.

HOW TO : Delete Your Online Activity Data from Google Account


1. Follow the first two steps mentioned in the above section

2. Now, click on the "Remove Items" from the drop-down menu as shown in second image above.

3. On the next windows, click on the drop-down menu next to the "Remove Items From" and select "The beginning of time". You can also select other time frame depending on your needs.

HOW TO  Delete All of Your Online Activity Data from Google Account

4. After selecting the duration for which you would like to remove your Google account activity data, click on the "Remove" button

Now, all of your search history data will be deleted from your Google account along with other saved online activities.

Post a Comment Disqus

 
Top